Order End Times paperback or eBook here

 

*****

 

Latest End Times News

 

* Recent interview on the Dark Roots of Modern American Politics

* Podcast fun 1: Two Broads Talking Politics talked to me about predicting a Trump-like figure emerging from the political swamp, writing satire in this insane era, and why the 2020 election will be two steps short of Armageddon. 

*Podcast fun 2: Listen to me talk about End Times: More Great Adventures in Real America on Inside Scoop Live. It's fun, entertaining and free! 

* Read my Reader Views interview about inventing Real America and the inspirations for the new book. I keep conspiracy theory spreading to a minimum.

*End Times book talk appearance: Tuesday, Sept. 3 (6 p.m.), Keene (NH) Public Library auditorium.

 

* Real America is fantastical and disturbingly familiar. Read my short essay Creating Real America to see how it came into being.  


Order End Times paperback or eBook here


Critical Praise for End Times: More Great Adventures in Real America

 

It’s said that reality is starting to outpace satire: if the current political climate were put into fiction, readers wouldn’t find it believable. McCord manages to avoid this quandary by making a novel that is entertaining and insightful on its own terms, adding a new interpretation of the strange drama unfolding before us.

– Independent Review of Books

 

“As plunderer politicians, bullying businesses, the licensed crime of politics, and slave-labor kickback schemes take hold in this Real America Inc., readers receive a chilling glimpse of a possible future that could not have seemed so likely only a few years ago. McCord successfully captures the irony and poignancy of a nation gone over the edge and injects elements of a thriller, dystopian observation, political commentary and social conflict…his ability to extrapolate them to their most outrageous and morally reprehensible outcomes is exquisite.” – D. Donovan, Midwest Book Review

 


Michael McCord’s provocative 2013 political satire The Execution Channel: A Political Fable was the first act of his Real America trilogy and (gulp!) foreshadowed the rise of Trumpsanity.

 

The saga continues with the fantastical and farcical End Times: More Great Adventures in Real America. Set in an alternative (yet eerily familiar) political universe, this tale of American dystopia answers the question: What happens when America goes politically bonkers?

 

The colorful cast is topped by the righteously amoral and thoroughly corrupt Lawrence C. ‘Demon Seed’ Bowie. After surviving an attempted coup in 2018, the former governor of the Real America Republic of Texas has rebounded with his customary good karma. Bowie is Chairman, CEO, President, and toga-wearing Emperor Supreme for Life of Real America, Inc., the Confederate-admiring, whites-preferred, and corporate-run nation that seceded from Old USA in 2020.

 

As he nurtures a new country combining the best aspects of a national crime syndicate and a death cult, Bowie prepares for a Coronation Night Extravaganza in the capital city of Dallas to celebrate his magnificence and dazzle the world. Though his apocalyptic destiny seems assured, a rising resistance and many foes conspire against him and threaten the Real American dream:

* Legendary secret agent Penelope the Psychic leads the Moocher Resistance Front in an asymmetrical, guerrilla war against Bowie and Real America. Penelope and her band of young digital warriors formulate a daring plan to take Bowie down.

* Bowie’s beloved Mama Bowie defects to Old USA and denounces her son “as an ignorant and dangerous fool.”

* The mysterious and elusive R-Gurr, the battlefield commander of the Moocher Resistance Front, frustrates Bowie at every turn.

The Pious Pauli, the former Congressional leader who defected from Old USA, enforces economic etiquette in Real America. He also leads a conspiratorial plot to overthrow Bowie. 

Mr. Jones, the Real America Secret Police Czar, is the second-most feared man in Real America. But Penelope has forced him to be a double agent which complicates his attempts to thwart the End Times business plan of The Pious Pauli.

 

Bold, original, and wickedly creative, End Times: More Great Adventures in Real America will leave readers wondering: Just how Real is Real America?

 

****

Real America is closer than you think. See examples of real political madness headlines seeping into the satirical stew of End Times at the Real America Blog.

 


More Critical Praise for End Times

I am going to say right out of the gate that End Times by Michael McCord is one of the most psychologically disturbing pieces of political satire that I have ever read. McCord hits a nerve with virtually every paragraph…With every chapter, the author manages to bring to light yet another aspect of the current political climate with vibrant and frighteningly obvious characters.” – Literary Titan

 

With its acerbic narrative perspective, dark humour, and even its absurdity, it’s hard to deny the ever-present element of plausibility that makes it quite terrifying...For readers who love entertainment that makes them laugh out loud whilst highlighting the absurdity of issues that in reality are deadly serious, End Times: More Great Adventures in Real America is a must read and unreservedly recommended.” – BookViral Review

  


Praise for The Execution Channel: A Political Fable

 

A novel of fierce intelligence...a pointed and very funny mockery of our current cynical age.

-Kirkus Review

 

With colorful characters so ludicrous they could only be real, McCords satire of profit, politics and capital punishment should be required reading.

Clarion Review

 

The Execution Channel: A Political Fable is a satire in the tradition of Swift, Heller, Vonnegut & Marx (Groucho, that is).

It will leave readers wondering:

Just how Real is Real America? 

 

   Dont be afraid: Buy the book (paperback or digital) here!


About the Author

 

Michael McCord, the former political editor and columnist for The Portsmouth (NH) Herald, is an award-winning journalist and writer.

 

A U.S. Army veteran, he covered his first presidential primary campaign in 1980 and has written for dozens of publications - including the Boston Globe Magazine, Boston Globe, New Hampshire Business Review, Boston Herald, New Hampshire Magazine – and has won New England & New Hampshire press association awards for investigative reporting, political commentary, feature and historical writing, and business journalism.

 

Among many adventures, McCord profiled James Dougherty, Marilyn Monroes mostly unknown unknown first husband, for Boston Globe Magazine. He also co-wrote the produced theatrical play “think twice before you think” about the life and writings of e e cummings. His essay on the history of the New Hampshire presidential primary was included in the 2008 analogy The American Presidency.

 

His Real America saga includes The Execution Channel: A Political Fable (2013) & End Times: More Great Adventures in Real America (2019). Penelope will be the final book in the trilogy.

 

He lives in Exeter, NH with his artist wife Anne and their cat Vito (the Twitter star of the family).

 

(Above: On the campaign trail with some guy named Obama when they were both younger. Scott Yates photo)



People are talking about End Times: More Great Adventures in Real America

 

Reader Responses:

I loved this book! The book is both funny and terrifying: it’s the perfect balance of dystopian horror and laugh out loud humor. So many great lines! Highly recommended.” - Diane from California.

 

I really enjoyed this book...It's satire but the references to Trump and his followers are on target. The author saw the Trump craziness before most. There are definitely funny parts of the book but overall, it is very sobering.” - Larry from New Hampshire

 

“Bowie trumpets lies, commits murder and blankets his nation with propaganda aimed at manipulating the general public to accept his incredibly self-serving version of reality as truth...two of my favourite characters were Penelope and Mama Bowie. Mama Bowie was a particular highlight as her unexpected relationship with her erratic son was surprising and comical. - Sophie from Australia.

 


Other Writing 2018-2019

 

Impeachment Letter to my Congressman: When is Enough Enough?

 

People are talking about Watergate Trivia: Guess Who Came to Dinner in 1974? Relevant because of impeachment, presidential malfeasance something or other.

 

If you haven't read my recent essay Nixonland: A Second Look you still have time to rectify the oversight.

 

Trump is Ours! My interview with Russian state TV expert Julia Davis.

 

***